Chris Mee Group Safety Statements

Safety Integrity Level (SIL) Determination

The International Electrotechnical Commission is the organisation which develops and sets international standards in electrotechnical engineering areas. In 1997 the IEC published the standard IEC 61508, Functional safety of electrical/electronic/programmable electronic safety-related systems.
The IEC 61508 specifies 4 levels of safety performance for a safety function. These are called safety integrity levels (SIL), being SIL1 lowest and SIL4 the highest level of safety integrity.
At Occupli, we will analyse the consequences, frequency and exposure to the risks, possibility, and probability of the unwanted occurrence in order to determine the levels.

A report will be issued to the client with the following contents:

  • Identification and quantification of the risks
  • Safety Instrumented System (SIS) requirements
  • Definition the Safety Integrity Levels (SIL)
  • Determination of the risk reduction to reach an acceptable level



Contact the Consultancy Team Today


+353 1 517 5270


+353 818 315 415

Did you know that Occupli also offer SEVESO Consultancy Services?

Sign up to get our Newsletter!